WP Reset Pro Plugin – The Solution For When You Need To Start Again –

WP Reset Pro Featured

WP Reset PRO is a plugin that does maybe the most hated thing in web management – resets. It’s a grisly job, but someone has to do it. Sooner or later in the life of any website manager, a time will come when they’ll need to tear everything down and start anew. Reasons are various, from moving on beyond a test site, through a drastic change in direction or even malevolent attacks. Much like the operating system, we use daily, the underlying structure of a site can use only so much disbalance before it’s necessary to take drastic actions.

If you’ve been using WordPress a while, you’ve probably heard of the plugin already; however, the features it provides have somewhat expanded with the PRO tier, and some existing features have been further refined. We’ll go through the whole thing to give you an idea of everything that’s possible to do and to show you that this is a plugin you should always have active, not just when in dire need.

Resetting in different ways

If you see a plugin like this and think it’s a simple one-trick pony with just its namesake function, you’re in for a surprise. Of course, there is the titular option to reset your site, but that’s just scratching the surface of what you can do. Because it’s probably at the forefront of everyone’s mind, let’s hop on the wagon and start with the options that fully reset your site.

There’s three of these:

Site reset

Starting from the most obvious choice, we have the “regular” reset i.e., the one that most correlates to people’s perception of resetting something. If you’ve ever formatted a disk, you’ll have a pretty good idea of what is happening.

So, all your personal data will be gone permanently – all posts, pages, custom post types, comments, media entries, and users. Along with those, you’ll also lose all default WP database tables, as well as all custom database tables that have the same “wp_” prefix. On the other hand, almost all the data you’ve uploaded will still be there – all media files remain, as well as integrations such as plugins and themes. Your site will also retain all fundamental elements like site title, WordPress address, site address, site language, and visibility settings.

While conducting the act of resetting, you’ll be able to choose how the site will behave immediately after in some basic aspects – what theme will be active (default or current), should all active plugins be activated automatically, and should the WP Reset plugin activate automatically as well. Since data connected to all three of these remain intact after the process is finished, you’ll also be able to turn them on or off manually.

It goes without saying that all changes you make are final, so create a snapshot (conveniently, positioned right beside the “reset” button), or make some other backup; otherwise there’ll be no turning back. Finally, it’s also worth mentioning the text box that requires input before you can go through with the reset. Although

[…]

 



This article was written by Matej Milohnoja and originally published on WP Newsify.

Disclosure: Some of the links in this post are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the product, We may receive an affiliate commission.

Leave a Comment

You have to agree to the comment policy.

Scroll to Top